Summer reading list: Tales of adventure

At the St. Lawrence Antiques market

At the St. Lawrence Antiques market

IMG_3236

Last summer was all about creating my own adventures abroad – from wandering the streets of Paris to hiking old growth forests along the Sunshine Coast.  In contrast, this year will be marked by exploring hidden gems closer to home and embracing my inner hermit.   This season, when the yen to pack my bags arises, I figure I will sate myself with a killer summer reading list to live vicariously through.

I just finished Bonnie Jo Campbell‘s unflinching and fierce coming of age novel,  Once Upon a River.  It got me thinking about other books I’ve enjoyed that tapped into my enthusiasm for tales of extreme adventure, survival and the relationship we have with nature.

If you have similar tastes, I’d love some suggestions to add to my list of must-reads.  Off the top of my head, here are some enduring favourites (click on the images for links to the authors):

“Uncertain as I was as I pushed forward, I felt right in my pushing, as if the effort itself meant something. That perhaps being amidst the undesecrated beauty of the wilderness meant I too could be undesecrated, regardless of what I’d lost or what had  been taken from me, regardless of the regrettable things I’d done to others or myself or the regrettable things that had been done to me.  Of all the things I’d been skeptical about, I didn’t feel skeptical about this: the wilderness had a clarity that included me.  

-excerpted from Wild by Cheryl Strayed
 
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

