Hand cramps of love (for hand lettering)

IMG_3653

What I’m working on these days.

IMG_3654

Decisions, decisions…

I’m going deep down into the rabbit hole with this map-making project and kind of fuzzing out on the big picture at the moment.   Eventually I will manage to assimilate all my little doodles into a Franken-map of the odd and awesome, but for now, I’m geeking out on the details!

Clearly, what I’ve been getting the most pleasure out of is practicing my lettering.  I came by my love honestly and early, thanks to my highschool art teacher.   Mrs. Huebener was a calligrapher, and in those days, I’m pretty sure I thought that was uncool.  What did I know?  The most advanced art instruction I’d had to date was sewing pink aprons with plastic pockets (how avant garde!) in junior high Home Ec. class.  Thank goodness the bar was raised by Mrs. H.  I distinctly remember one of our first grade 9  assignments was to create a monogram of our initials using Roman Caps . I recall how badly my hand shook trying to draw a straight line that first class, the pervasive smell (and stain) of india ink, and how my writer’s callus ballooned over the course of the year.  To this day, I still grip my pens too tightly and that callus?  I call him Arnold.

While I never saved any of those shaky and earnest high school assignments, I did rifle through some old sketchbooks recently while looking for map ideas. Care to join me on this little walk down memory lane?

IMG_3643

Doodle on a mail-forwarding label, 2009.

IMG_3649

Old school layout ! Draft of a Christmas postcard for clients c. 2008.

IMG_3645

2006 – I suffered from a bad case of insomnia that year.

IMG_3647

An everlasting love of word bubbles, 2007.

IMG_3646

Drawing whatever was on my desk, apparently mostly CDs and art supplies. c. 2004.

IMG_3648

I have always enjoyed (obsessively) making lists, c. 2007

IMG_3652

Some keepers from the Hand Lettering class I took last year, taught by the amazing illustrator Katy Dockrill at Nook. Super fun!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

