Wearing my heart upon my sleeve for Saltie

IMG_2391

“The good old days are now.  It is not ruined.  Ignore travel snobbery.  Bali, Thailand and other supposedly overrun paradises are still great places to visit, even though it may have been more real 15 years ago.   Your first time is your first time, virgin turf simply is.  The moment you commit to a trip there begins the search for adventure. “

– Bruce Northam, canon #3 , Globetrotter Dogma -Rules of the Road

Recently, I found this transcribed in the back of a notebook from many years ago (in my pre-computer days, gasp) and it struck a chord.  Or maybe several.  I have had it open on my desk for a couple of weeks now, percolating.  Over the past year, I took a travel sabbatical that led me from the streets of Paris, to the national parks of Oregon with some Colorado mountains and Sunshine Coast sunsets sprinkled in for good measure.  Those weeks truly embodied the spirit that Northam alludes to, and then some.   Now that I’m home, the great challenge has been learning how to maintain that sense of ingenuousness without having to hop on a plane.   I feel like those Globetrotter Rules of the Road will serve me well in my creative pursuits and daily life.

In the arenas of blogging and Brooklyn, I have come to the party kind of late.  Let’s get over the “been there, done that” travel snobbery and get on with waxing poetic about one noteworthy sandwich shop:  Saltie.

Saltie is the brainchild of Rebecca Collerton, Caroline Fidanza and Elizabeth Schula.  All fixtures of the Brooklyn food scene, Fidanza, most notably, used to be head chef at Diner and Marlow & Sons before opening the sandwich shop in 2009.  As the sign in the window states, they run a tight a ship – a short and sweet menu executed in a spare and minimalist space with a nod to the nautical life.

With playful names such as The Captain’s Daughter, Romaine Dinghy and Spanish Armada, it’s hard not to get carried away and order one of everything.   The Scuttlebutt stole my heart, not only because I so badly wanted to say the word out loud with a straight face, but because it looked over-the-top tasty.  It’s all in the details – homemade mayo, sauces, pickles and crispy/chewy/salty foccacia are what make this salad-within-a-sandwich unlike anything I’ve ever tasted before .  When you are done licking the last crumbs and dribbles of lunch off your fingers, get back in line and buy some “adult” chocolate chip cookies (a twist on fruit and nut chocolate ) to enjoy with a cup of tea when you get back to your apartment.   Also, contemplate how you can work a ‘do rag or jauntily twisted bandana into your daily attire.  They really know how to accessorize the hell out of the standard white apron look.

IMG_2386

You can find out more about Caroline Fidanza in this great Food52 interview, and if you are a fan of The Selby, you can get a glimpse of the big action that happens in such a tiny space, here.

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Wearing my heart upon my sleeve for Saltie

  1. Allison says:

    I like the beginning quote – and your sandwich description has left my mouth watering!

Leave a Reply

